Embryo Update and Next Steps

I waited to do an update until I had more information to pass on. Our solo embryo made it to a day 5 blastocyst and was biopsied and then frozen.

Our day 5 blastocyst, hatching from its shell.

The biopsy was sent to Cooper Genomics on Monday January 25, 2021 and arrived on Tuesday. There was a snag in the lab and they didn’t actually start testing on it until Monday February 1st.

I called and Cooper agreed to rush the results because they messed up. Today they sent an email saying the results were ready and would be sent to the fertility clinic. After waiting fairly impatiently for almost 2 hours, I decided to give them a call. I wasn’t prepared for what they had to say.

The first thing the nurse said was that someone was going to call to talk to me about the results. My heart sunk. Why couldn’t she just tell me then and there? I asked her what it said and I was informed that the embryo is an aneuploid, abnormal, embryo. After doing some research it basically means that the embryo is incompatible with life and would more than likely either not implant or implant and miscarry in the first trimester.

I asked the nurse if Solo (the name we gave our embryo) was a male or female embryo…..and it is a GIRL.

My heart is heavy knowing that we were able to get a female embryo but she isn’t going to make it. It brings up so many feels from losing our daughter.

At this point we are gearing up for a second retrieval. I took a days worth of transfer meds thinking that if solo was a genetically normal female, we would transfer her after the retrieval. I am going to stop the transfer meds and keep priming for retrieval. I start stim meds on Friday and will go from there.

Leave a comment