HG and GD?

I refrained from posting for a bit because mentally I wasn’t in a very good space. Honestly, I’m still struggling a lot, but the day must go on. 

As you may remember from my last post, I failed the glucose tolerance test because I vomited up the drink before my blood was drawn, and rather than make me try the drink (and most likely puke it up) again, my OB had me start a log of glucose levels via finger prick test. I was to track the levels for a week and call in with the numbers. If I passed, great….if I failed I would be referred to the doctor managing the picc line and my asthma for gestational diabetes management as well. while at my bimonthly picc appointment (where the doctor checks to make sure I haven’t developed clots or infection) and checking my asthma progress…..I shared my glucose levels with the doctor. 

A fasting glucose level should be under 95, mine has been consistantly in the mid to upper 120’s. An hour after meals, he likes to see numbers under 135…..mine range between 150 and 320 depending on what I eat. His immediate diagnosis was gestational diabetes. Because my numbers are so high, especially the fasting levels, and my limited diet due to hyperemesis,  I was put on insulin at night to help regulate my morning glucose levels. I am supposed to meet with a dietician tomorrow to try and figure out what I can eat, and go back Thursday for a med check. 

Now here’s the tricky part. Hyperemesis Gravidarum and gestational diabetes compete against each other. The majority of foods that stay down with HG are high in carbs and sugar, and low in protein. The GD diet requires the opposite: high in protein, low in carbs. Bread, pasta, cereal and ice cream (about the only things I can keep down), are huge No-No’s in the GD world. Foods high in protein, vegetables and some fruit are staples of the GD diet…..the things I have the absolute hardest time keeping down thanks to HG. 

Right now I am struggling between choosing to eat something I can keep down, but will cause my glucose levels to soar -OR- eating something that will keep my glucose levels in check, but will cause me to vomit for hours on end and render me useless in taking care of Luke. I quickly learned that the just don’t eat option isn’t really an option at all. 

At this point I’m not really sure how all of this is going to play out. I meet with the dietician tomorrow to see what we can figure out, and the prenatal internal medicine doctor on Thursday. I know he’s going to up my insulin dose since my fasting levels haven’t changed, and probably add in insulin at meal times since my numbers are so high there. I also meet with the OB on Thursday for my normal 30 week appointment….where more than likely we’ll discuss the possibility of induction between 37 and 39 weeks. Going past 40 weeks has been taken off the table. 

These next few weeks are going to be a struggle, but I will do anything to make sure that both my boys are well taken care of. 

14 thoughts on “HG and GD?

  1. I’m on my third pregnancy, and second one with GD. This last one I have had GD right from the start, and I’m at 34 weeks now. My hospital requires fasting numbers to be under 90, and post meal ones under 120. I’ve been lucky that both pregnancies I have been able to manage it with diet and exercise, and my son was almost a week past due and still only 7lb15oz. But man, when you do it, you do it right 😂
    I honestly don’t know how you deal with all the stuff that’s been thrown your way!

    Liked by 1 person

    • GD is hard! Our fastings are similar but I test 1 hour after a meal, not 2. If it weren’t for the HG I don’t think I would have a problem with the diet…..its just they are polar opposite.

      A lot of people have told me that they don’t know how I handle everything. Honestly I wake up and do my best to make it through the day. Sure there are days I end up crying in the closet in the ever growing pile of clothes that don’t fit, but then I suck it up and get back to life. It’s not the easiest life, but it’s the only one I’ve got.

      Like

  2. I hope they can help you figure something out so that you can eat, not get sick from it, and keep your numbers under control. Though I don’t have HG, I know what a struggle it is to live with GD. My Drs keep saying that nobody ever wants a GD baby to stay in past 39 weeks, and just depends on how well mom and baby are doing as far as when to induce. Your little is so big already, he may not need help coaxing out in the end! Let me know how the appts go the rest of the week, and if there’s anything I can do to help you out! Hang in there…I know it sucks, for so many reasons, but you’ll get through this! *hugs*

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was crushed when I found out I had GD. But after two weeks of learning what I could eat and adjusting, I found it very easy to manage. My fasting was an issue and I took glyburide at night and all was good. My son was 7 lbs 2 oz. I’m sorry you’ve had such a rough go. Hoping these next few weeks pass quickly so you can have your little love safely on the outside and have your body return to a less chaotic state.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow! Those are high numbers! I had GD with bb1, and the insulin at meals gave me MUCH more leeway, but holy shit is it expensive. They were set to induce me at 39w, then bumped it to 37 when I started developing Pre-E too, and ultimately she came at 36,4 perfectly healthy and 5l13o. Don’t stress it too much, the insulin will help, and getting those numbers in check might even help your HG! I always felt my worst when my blood sugar was out of whack.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

