Other Options?

We are now 9 weeks into this pregnancy, and I’m not in the best place physically. If you remember my pregnancy with Luke, I was sick All. The. Time. The same thing is going on with this baby, but even more so. I started the pregnancy at 122 pounds and am sitting at 115.6 when I weighed in this morning. Essentially I have already lost 7 pounds in 2 weeks time. 

I have good days where I feel only mildly nauseated at times, most of my days are nauseous feeling all day long, and some days I can’t stay away from the toilet. All this sickness has made it hard (but not impossible) to take care of Luke. I feel like the little man is getting the short end of the stick, although he loved playing in the bathroom…..so maybe not. 

I have an appointment on Friday to go over our options. My belly is so raw, bruised and gross from the zofran pump. (Look at the cute photo bomber)


It hurts so bad. I’m already on the highest dose of zofran I can be on. The PICC line is only a last resort option because I have to be hospitalized for placement, there is a huge risk for infection and the effects of only liquid nutrition isn’t the best for growing Baby L. 

If anyone has any other ideas please feel free to share. Keep in mind that traditional nausea remedies don’t work on me (ginger, small frequent meals, peppermint, sea bands, preggo pops, the like)

9 thoughts on “Other Options?

  1. I don’t have any ideas really. I wonder if acupuncture would help? I’ve never tried it but… I don’t know. I lost 7 pounds with Levi but I wasn’t throwing up. Just too nauseous to eat. I hope your sickness will subside soon. Hopefully once 10-12 weeks roll around you’ll be feeling better but I know that’s a long time to wait when every day is miserable. :/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What about pherergan? It can be give oral or rectal. I’m not fully sure of its use during pregnancy but I do see it used in the very very quick google search I did. But looks like it’s category C. Maybe ask your OB? Good luck and I hope you feel better soon.

    Like

  3. I’m so sorry you’re back in this position. I know how extremely difficult it is once you have another child to take care of as well (and you have a baby–mine was 4 when I was so sick!) Honestly, I feel like there needs to be a lot more research done on how to treat HG. I will say that although I never found anything that worked (besides temporary relief of twice weekly IV hydration), I didn’t try accupuncture and some people with HG do find relief from that. I know you’ll want to see someone who specializes in HG specifically. At one point I had the name of someone in Denver who does….I could probably dig around if you decide that’s an option.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

