Little Luke is 6 Months Old!

I can’t believe I’m even writing this post right now! It seems so surreal to be typing my child’s 6 month update while watching him work on learning to crawl across the room. I am so unbelievably thankful for the opportunity to be the mommy of this amazing little boy.

Luke is growing by leaps and bounds. Not so much in the weight department, but hitting milestones left and right. In the past week and a half he has discovered how to roll from back to tummy. He also figured out he could keep rolling and move across the room. He’s started army crawling across the floor and I just witnessed him up on his hands and knees crawl for a few seconds before crashing to the floor. He can sit unassisted, but hasn’t quite figured out how to pull himself into a sitting position. Daddy chases Luke away from his shoes all the time now. Luke is working on standing now, and can stand unassisted (ish) if propped up against our legs. He almost prefers to stand than anything right now.

Luke “talks” non-stop. He can say momma…..and does so quite frequently. I’ve been told by both my mom and my husband that when I leave the house Luke starts crying and saying “momma, momma”. He also roars/growls and babbles. He has no interest right now in saying much more, but I think he’s right there.

Luke does the funniest thing with his hands. He taps on just about everything. I remember when I was pregnant, feeling like his was tapping on my hip bone. Turns out, he probably was. He taps on my face, my arms, Ronny, his car seat, his toys, the floor, the dogs, his bottle…..if it’s near his hand he’s probably going to be tapping on it. The best is when I wake up to him tapping lightly on my back first thing in the morning.

Sleep is going a lot better now…..well kind of. I have started propping him up on his boppy at the end of our bed. My sister was concerned that Ronny might kick Luke off the end, but he sleeps right below my feet/between my legs so it won’t happen. I struggled for a bit with using the boppy since it isn’t recommended for sleep, but after considering it and trying it out he does so much better. Luke goes down for bed usually between 8:15 and 8:45 pm. He will wake at about 10:30 ish for a bottle and again between midnight and 1 am for another bottle. He then wakes up at 3 am and from there is up every 20-30 minutes. I’m not quite sure why he wakes so much after 3am but it’s exhausting. Naps are a whole different story. Lately naps have been either really short, or really long.

Luke is still having issues with eating. He’s only eating between half an ounce and 2 ounces at a time. Any more than that and we enter vomit town. You can tell that he’s hungry and wants to eat more, but after 2 ounces he pukes everywhere. It hasn’t helped that he has had a reaction to every single solid we have trialed. Hopefully this all straightens itself out soon.

Luke is growing really well though. He gained a whole pound in a month. It averages out to 4 ounces a week, which is the lower end of normal. BUT it beats the hell out of the half ounce to 2 ounces a week that he has been gaining. He’s up to 15 pounds 10 ounces, which is the 15th percentile. We still haven’t doubled his birth weight, but we are on our way.

He’s making leaps and bounds in the height department though. Luke is measuring at 28 inches, which is the 94th percentile. He’s basically a long lean boy……but he looks solid haha.

Here are his 6 month photos. I can’t pick my favorite…..plus some extras from the past few weeks.

 

3 thoughts on “Little Luke is 6 Months Old!

  1. He really is a super cute little dude and meeting all his milestones so obviously the GI issues aren’t impacting that and that’s great. I presume you are elevating for sleep because of the reflux? I have heard it gives babies more relief so they can sleep for longer. I remember reading about it when my little man was young as I was convinced he had silent reflux and I think it is considered safe to do something like elevate the cot (prop up one end on books for example) rather than elevate them with something underneath their body. I only mention it as there has been a big awareness thing here recently about not leaving babies in car seats after you get them out of the car even if they are sleeping as that type of elevation constricts their airways and they can (and have) stopped breathing. Prob less concerning at this age as Luke can lift his head now if he needs to but just thought I’d pass the info on in case it was useful. I have no idea what a Boppy is or how he would be positioned on it so maybe it’s not of concern at all. You are doing a great job so please don’t think I am suggesting otherwise at all!

    Like

  2. I sure hope they get his allergy stuff figured out and cleared up some time soon. Can’t believe that he’s 6 months old already!! Despite the GI stuff, he’s doing so well. Keep up the good work 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

