Poor Little Dude

My brilliant mommy moments are there, but for the most part I feel so bad. Never in a million years did I think that my perfect little man would have so many issues with foods! Five days ago we were given the go ahead to start giving him rice cereal to help with the reflux and weight gain issues. Four days ago the bloody, mucus filled poops returned and the rice was immediately stopped. Since he was also taking Benadryl and Cefdinir, I wasn’t convinced the rice was the problem and decided to try again once he was off the antibiotics.

I tried the rice yesterday morning while Ronny was at work. Luke absolutely loved it! You can watch the video on  YouTube.

Unfortunately he reacted once again to the rice. I am at a loss. Everything I try to give him to make him feel better or help him gain weight backfires on me. It feels like everything I ate while pregnant, he is showing reactions to now and it makes me wonder if I wasn’t hurting him in utero.

I’m still not totally convinced that the rice is the culprit, but perhaps an ingredient in the rice that is causing issues. A good friend sent me a link to how to make your own rice cereal using a food processor, so we might give that a shot using either the Whole Foods 365 brand brown rice or Bob’s Red Mill Brown rice. I’ll let you know how it goes though.

The other thing that I was thinking/wondering is if it’s possible that Luke could have a hernia that is causing issues with his tummy. I know that he has diastisis recti (like momma like baby), but don’t know if there is also a hernia in there. I’ve been looking into it and hiatal hernias can cause blood and mucus in the stool, acid reflux, poor weight gain and anemia. It makes sense though with the fact that Luke can only eat 1-2 ounces at a time and has all the other issues. The only way to tell for sure would be to call and schedule the Upper GI with barium contrast.

Honestly I don’t know how to feel right now. Do I hope that Luke’s tummy troubles all stem from a malformation in his abdomen or do I hope that it’s allergies that he will hopefully outgrow? If it’s a hernia causing some of his issues, I would feel like it’s my fault that this problems exists…..I am the one that baked him for 41 weeks after all. If there isn’t an issue with his abdomen then I still feel hopeless and struggling to figure out what is going on.

Geesh louishe! I wish this whole thing were easier.

2 thoughts on “Poor Little Dude

  1. I would talk to his ped about the possible hernia, and see if he can have the upper GI. It won’t hurt anything to see if it’s there. I hope that you figure out something to make your little man comfortable and get him eating some food soon!

    Like

  2. I know it’s hard not to blame yourself but… his problems are NOT your fault!! Just look at that adorable face. You did an amazing job growing him! And you have done an amazing job trying to help him get better. It sounds like you may be on to something with the hernia. Certainly worth looking into! On the other hand, if it is allergies, his gut may take awhile to heal before everything stops irritating it. I hope that either way, he will be eating and gaining terrific very soon!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

