The Day My Life Changed Forever

I remember the day so clearly. I woke up for the fourth day in a row not feeling well, popped 2 Alkaseltzer cold tablets and went to work. After a long day at work, Ronny and I were cleaning up the apartment because maintenance was going to come repair a few things the next morning. I had found an entire bag of pregnancy tests, about 30 of them to be exact. I thought “what the hell,” and took one of the $0.88 tests from Walmart before going back to cleaning. About 2o minutes later, as I was putting something in the bathroom, I caught a glimps of the pregnancy test I had taken and completely forgot about. Imagine my complete and utter shock when I saw two lines.

I hollered to my husband as I ran out of the bathroom, throwing the test at him and running around the apartment yelling, “oh shit” over and over again. He looked at the test, looked at me, looked at the test and said, “what does this mean?” I started to cry as I uttered the words, “we’re pregnant!” His face went white as he asked if I was sure. I went and took a few more tests….

IMG_2080

I immediately called my mom crying, and could barely utter the words. I then called my dad, sister and brother and told them the good news. Ronny called his mom to fill her in as well.

The next day I took a few more tests. IMG_2085

I called the fertility clinic for blood work and to find out the next steps, and set up beta testing for the very next day.

It’s been a year since I found out I was pregnant……a glorious, magical, frightening year. As I sit here blogging I can’t help but look at my husband holding Luke in his lap and think about how far we have come. I have been terrified every single day for a year. So scared that my dream is going to come crashing down on me. So scared that I am going to wake up and find that this was all just make believe.

I thank God every day for the life that I have been given. I have an amazing husband and the best little boy in the world. Sure, he is a lot of work and can really make my emotions go wild……but I wouldn’t trade him for anything in the world.

Here is a look back at the past year:

 

5 thoughts on “The Day My Life Changed Forever

Leave a Reply

