3 Months Postpartum: How Am I Holding Up?

Luke is 3 months old and doing fabulous. But that means that I am also 3 months postpartum. Having a baby has changed so much of my life – some expected, some not expected. I am tired as hell, have vomit on my shoulder and in my hair, there is pee on my comforter, and I talk about poop way too much……but I love it.

Physically, the end of pregnancy has been fairly good to my body. I am loosing weight and my skin is starting to firm back up. I’m down to 118 pounds and haven’t really done that much to get back in shape. My daily exercise consists of bouncing Luke on a yoga ball for hours to get him to sleep. It’s helped get rid of the cellulite on my back side and legs, and strengthen my legs up. Of course the constant bouncing has done a number on my back though.

20151101_031832975_iOS

Here is me 3 months into the pregnancy, 3 days before I delivered and 3 months postpartum.

I still have a bit of a saggy tummy and my abdominal wall isn’t fully closed yet, but I’m going to start working on it eventually.

I am so incredibly hungry. I’ve heard so many times that women are so hungry in the months following delivery. To be honest with you, I’m not hungry because of breast feeding or anything like that……I’m hungry because Luke’s cows milk and soy protein allergies have made it virtually impossible to find things that I can eat. There are days when I don’t eat anything until 7 or 8 o’clock at night, which isn’t helping my milk supply any. I need to take time to figure out some quick and easy dairy free, soy free breakfasts and lunches that I can eat with one hand.

I have some new aches and pains. My back has been killing me since Luke was born, and my left knee is so sore. I think its from the way I sit when I’m feeding Luke and the way I sleep. Speaking of sleep……we are doing pretty good there. Luke goes down for the night between 10:30 and 11:30 pm most nights, and I fall asleep right after. He usually wakes up at about 4 am for a feeding (I dream feed him, so he basically latches on to whichever nipple is in front of him and eats until he’s full, neither of us really waking up fully) and again at about 6 am for a second feeding. We usually get up between 8:30 am and 9 am. All in all, I usually get about 8 hours of sleep total, but it’s interrupted several times over the course of the night.

The biggest change of all has been in my boobs. My nipples are now in two totally different places and I look ridiculous. One points straight out as it has before, only about an inch lower than it used to be, and the other is about 1/2 an inch higher than it used to be, but points outwards at an angle. It isn’t so attractive.

All in all, while things aren’t always exactly what I thought they would be, this whole mommy gig isn’t half bad either. I love (almost) every minute of it.

6 thoughts on “3 Months Postpartum: How Am I Holding Up?

  1. We went dairy free here when my son was 1 (it sorted out issues too) and while tricky to begin with it is actually quite easy once you get the hang of it. Vegans are DF so I often used vegan recipes but added me for protein and to make them more filling. There are a lot of websites now that cater for this way of eating so have a hint around. Eggs are a good option – filling, nutritious and quick and easy to prepare. Smoothies with a non dairy milk as the barren librarian said, a quick and dirty tomato based pasta with veg and chicken also a great one. Nutritional yeast flakes have a cheesy flavour and can be sprinkled on pasta and salads as a cheese substitute. You look fabulous!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

