Dr. Brown’s Natural Flow Bottle Review

It was never my intention to bottle feed my son, but when push came to shove I had to do what was best for him. We started out with the Tommee Tippee bottles (which will be reviewed here), but after some trial and error decided to switch to Dr. Brown’s Natural Flow bottles.

I originally purchased a double pack of the 2 ounce preemie bottles for $10.99 at Target. Dr. Brown’s bottles are known for their two part valve system that helps reduce colic, spit up and burping. Since my little man was (and still kind of is) having issues when it comes to bottle feeding, this sounded like a product that met our needs really well. The reason I chose the preemie bottles first is because the level 1 flow nipple is too fast for my little guy. After a few days using the two preemie bottles, I ordered a 3 pack of the 8 ounce options bottles and two 5 packs, with additional preemie nipples to put in each of the bottles.

There is a slight difference between the standard natural flow bottle with the blue vent and the options bottle with the green vent. I will do the pros and cons of each bottle down below.

What I love:

There are so many aspects to this bottle that I absolutely love.

*The two part vent system has drastically reduced the amount of air that my little guy swallows during a feeding. The frequency and amount that he spits up has drastically decreased since switching bottles.

*The vent creates a paced feed so he isn’t eating too quickly. The extra slow flow preemie nipple and vented bottle let my baby control how much he is getting out of the bottle.

*I really like how the vent system brings air into the bottom of the bottle so the nipple doesn’t collapse in on itself as my little guy is eating. That was a major problem in several bottles that we tried.

*The bottles are dishwasher and microwave safe. I don’t usually put bottles in the microwave, but with the microwaveable sterilizers coming out this is a really big benefit. I do put the bottles through the dishwasher on occasion after I have given them a good scrubbing for an added layer of clean.

*The bottles fit nicely in the hand. I have rather small hands. My husband on the other hand, has very large hands. Neither of us have any problems holding the bottles. They are comfortable to hold and fairly light weight, even when filled.

*The options bottle gives you the option to use the bottle with or without the vent. At 12 weeks old, we will be using the vent but as my son gets older he probably won’t need the vent any more. It’s nice to have the option to take it out….or use the bottle with out the vent if it’s dirty and you need a bottle quickly.

*The measurement lines on the 2 ounce and 4 ounce bottles are painted on in blue making it easy to tell exactly how much water/formula/breast milk is in the bottle. The easy to see lines make for a quicker and easier time filling the bottles.

What I Don’t Like So Much

*The measurement lines on the 8 ounce bottles are clear, making it difficult (for me) to see how much water I have put into the bottle. My personal opinion is that if the markings were consistently blue on all of the bottles it would be so much easier.

*The bottles leak sometimes when you are shaking the formula to mix it up. The top must be screwed on really tightly (so tightly that sometimes it’s hard to get off) and you have to plug the hole on the nipple so that the bottle won’t leak. There are times when I have taken the top off the bottle to feed my son, only to discover that I’ve lost 1/2 an ounce or more from the formula coming out of the nipple during transportation (I only make 4 ounces at a time right now).

*The options bottle leaks really badly both with and without the vent. I haven’t figured out a good way to keep this bottle from leaking yet.

*There are essentially 6 pieces to each bottle: the nipple, the cap, the collar, the vent cap, the vent insert and the bottle. It is a lot of pieces if you are in need of a bottle quickly. There is also a disc that you can put over the vent to keep the bottle from leaking, but you have to take that out before feeding, which adds time to preparation.

*Because there are so many pieces to the bottle, they take a long time to clean…..in comparison to a 3 piece bottle. You also have to use the regular bottle brush, and then a special vent brush to clean the inside of the vent.

*After several dozen uses, the bottles have lost some of their clearness and are now a cloudy color. This doesn’t really impact feeding or anything but looks odd on the counter.

Extra Bits Of Information:

*There are travel caps available that make mixing formula and transporting liquids much easier. I personally haven’t quite figured out what to do with the top of the bottle while the travel cap is on, but it’s a minor problem that I’m sure has a solution.

*The bottles can take on an unpleasant odor if formula is left in it for an extended period of time.

*You need a long bottle brush to clean the bottles. The regular  ones aren’t quite long enough.

What is your favorite baby bottle?

5 thoughts on “Dr. Brown’s Natural Flow Bottle Review

  1. I love the dr. Brown’s bottles! I find that as long as I scrub them after every use and wash in the dishwasher with baby safe dishwasher tabs mine are still are clear, not cloudy. I’ve been using the same ones for 5-6 months now and rotating 6 of them as we use 4-5 a day.

    They are a little extra work to clean, but they worked great for my daughter so it’s worth it to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We use the glass ones and love them. I bought some options ones for when we flew to DC last month (because I didn’t want to clean all the parts in our hotel room). Fortunately, ours didn’t leak. Wonder if maybe you could return yours?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We use a variety of different bottles:

    Dr. Browns
    Tommee Tippee
    Playtex
    Nuk

    My husband prefers the Nuk bottles – they are easy to see/read and my son likes the nipple. It’s a medium flow, so he chokes a little bit which in turns causes him to swallow more air.

    The Dr. Brown bottles seem to be okay as far as keeping air out – but he develops a swollen upper lip because the nipple is awkward for him.

    Have to say his favorite are the Tommee Tippee bottles but they don’t do much as far as keeping air out – he just prefers those nipples the best.

    Playtex Ventair bottles are decent, but the nipple seems really stiff. He doesn’t get much air and the flow works for him – and he doesn’t get a swollen upper lip. These “fit” the best, but we alternate between the four types of bottles everyday.

    He eats. He sleeps. He poops. He burps. He’s happy as long as he’s getting food 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

