My Top 10 Newborn Must Haves

As a new mom, I found myself completely overwhelmed with the number of baby products I was told I would need. List after list provided numerous gizmos and gadgets that I “absolutely had to have” to make it through the first few months of motherhood. I went out and bought tons of things I thought I would need. After 2 months of mommy-hood, here is a list of my top 10 newborn must haves.

  1. Huggies Little Snuggler Diapers in size Newborn and Size 1: Little man was too small to fit into the cloth diaper covers I made so we needed diapers quick.The hospital provided us with some size 1 Pampers while we were in the hospital. Unfortunately, they were way too big and Luke got a really bad rash from them. Thank goodness for the Huggies! The newborn size  have a cut out for the umbilical cord, which eliminates the need to fold the diaper down. We had no issues with leaking or blow outs and they are very absorbent.

20151005_235148755_iOS

  1. 2. Pampers Sensitive Baby Wipes: I really like these baby wipes for several reasons. First off, they are thicker than any other wipes and don’t really let much through. They are tough on messes, but gentle on skin. They don’t have a fragrance or any alcohol to them, which is nice when it comes to sensitive skin. The wipes are pretty big too. A larger wipe comes in handy for really big messes.

3. Johnson’s Head to Toe Wash: When it comes to baby cleansers two stick out in my mind – Aveeno baby wash and Johnsons.I have tried both, and prefer the head to toe wash hands down. First off, little man got hives every time I used the Aveeno baby wash. I tried the Johnsons and it seems to be more gentle on my tiny tot’s skin. It has a pleasant fragrance that isn’t overpowering. True to it’s word, the Johnsons wash is tear free. I got some in my own eyes and it didn’t burn at all. It’s easy to use and cleans all of baby’s body parts.

4. Dr. Brown’s Natural Flow Bottle with Preemie Nipples: We started out our formula feeding journey using the Tommee Tippee bottles. While I loved the bottles, the flow was way too fast for Luke. He would choke and get too much milk out at a time. We discovered that the nipple was flowing too quickly for him and couldn’t find a slower flow Tommee Tippee nipple. On a whim I tried out the Dr. Brown’s natural flow preemie bottles. They come in a 2 ounce 2 pack with preemie nipples. It was the perfect flow for my little man. Since then we have gotten 9 of the 8 ounce bottle, 7 of the 4 ounce bottle and 14 extra preemie nipples. We have a combination of the standard valve bottles and options bottles.

IMG_3206-05. Receiving Blankets: Little man loves a nice tight swaddle. He won’t sleep more than 10 minutes unless he is swaddled up. I have used both my DIY receiving blankets and store bought swaddlers. I prefer the ones that I made because they are much larger and easier for me to get a good swaddle with. They are easy to wash, haven’t stained yet and are super comfy. I have used them to keep myself warm as well, and they really do a good job.

6. Yoga Ball: We have a swing for the little guy, but for the first 6 weeks of his life he absolutely hated being in it. For the first couple of weeks he was so small that the swing took him over, and after that it was just an unfamiliar and seemingly uncomfortable place to be. One particularly fussy night I swaddled Luke and bounced on the yoga ball like I had so many times while he was in utero. I don’t know if it was the familiar motion or the repetition, but it put him to sleep almost instantly. At 9 weeks old he still loves to be swaddled and bounced on the ball.
7. Munchkin Nursery Organizer: I was hesitant to make this purchase, but I am so glad that I did. This organizer provides valuable storage space while still looking cute. It isn’t so large that it takes up a large amount of space, but is large enough to hold quite a bit of stuff. For example, the top left “bin” holds 100 size 1 diapers. It was incredibly easy to put together and is light weight so it is easy to move around. It is pretty durable for the price as well.

8. Car Seat Mirror with Light: I was absolutely against this purchase at first, but as time has gone on it has proved to be very valuable. First off, it has been such a great investment for peace of mind. I couldn’t tell you how many times I crawled from the front seat to the back seat to check and make sure he was still alive in the first few weeks of Luke’s life. Now that I can look in the rear view mirror, or turn and look, I feel much more at ease with him being in the back seat. I also highly recommend the light feature. The light is enough to illuminate him if we are night driving, and provides enough light for him to be able to see without distracting the driver from the road.
9. Mommy’s Bliss Gripe Water: I’m all for natural products when raising children, and don’t put much stock in gas drops. That being said, the Mommy’s Bliss gripe water has been a life saver for us. It helps settle upset tummy’s, which we had a lot of before we figured out Luke’s allergies, and doesn’t contain any alcohol. It’s made from natural products. It seems as if his upset tummy would be magically cured within minutes of ingesting. It would help him burp or fart and would calm his painful cries from the moment he tasted it.

10. Tommee Tippee Pacifiers: I know that they say you shouldn’t give your child a pacifier until they are at least four weeks old. However, my son liked to use my nipples for comfort sucking……and damaged them pretty badly in the process. We were told the best pacifier for a breast fed baby is one that isn’t angled. The tommee tippee pacifiers are pretty much the same shape as a human nipple and are excellent for comfort sucking.

What did you absolutely have to have to make it through the first month?

Photos for all but the pampers wipes and receiving blankets were found on Amazon.

3 thoughts on “My Top 10 Newborn Must Haves

  1. Pingback: Post Surgery Check-In, Changes and Catching Up | Eventual Momma

Leave a Reply

