1 Year Surgaversary

A year ago today at this very moment I was coming out of surgery to remove what was believed to be scar tissue from my uterus and check to make sure my tubes were clear. What we didn’t know at the time was that there was an unusually large septum taking up 95% of my uterus, making implantation incredibly difficult and a viable pregnancy impossible. 

What should have been an hour long surgery turned into four as the reproductive endocrinologist worked to remove the septum and restore my ability to bear children. The surgery got intense at times, the catheter holding the camera to my cervix ripping off, leaving several gaping holes that needed stitching. A balloon with scalding hot water was left where the septum had once lived and I was wheeled into recovery.

Recovery wasn’t easy. I spent several hours at the hospital while they tried to get my vomiting under control and ease the chest pains from expanding my stomach with gas. My husband spent the next month virtually sleepless as I cried and fought night terrors brought on by the pain meds. He carried me up and down the stairs every day so that my mom could take care of me. 

We were told the septum was the reason for our infertility and that we wouldn’t have any problems with conception. It took 7 months and 5 days to get a bfp. I look back at the past year and am shocked at the emotional roller coaster we have been on. We went from thinking we would never be able to have children, through all of the physical pain of healing, heartache month after month of trying with no success, to finally getting pregnant and now a mixture of pure joy and absolute terror everyday. 

It’s been an amazing journey and I couldn’t have done any of this without the love and support of my husband, my family and all of you.

2 thoughts on “1 Year Surgaversary

Leave a Reply

