Panic Is Starting To Kick In

Here I sit 3 days away from 22 weeks and I am starting to panic. There is so much to being a momma that I didn’t even think about, and here I am 18ish weeks out and scared to death. I’m an amazing auntie (when I’m not trying to kill my nephew with pop rocks) but that doesn’t necessarily mean I’m going to be a great mom. 

I’m fully aware that I’m not going to be perfect. Even Michelle Duggar probably makes mistakes. Half of the time I question whether or not I am actually ready for this. Honestly, what the hell was I thinking getting pregnant!?!? Don’t get me wrong. I am so thankful that I am even getting this chance when so many others are still fighting just to get to this point. I don’t take a single day for granted. Sometimes though, I have to be a new mommy to be and freak a little.

Right now my biggest concerns are mostly centered around making sure that I have everything I’m going to need to properly take care of a baby, and feeding tiny tot. I’m so nervous that I left something major off the registry or registere for too much of something or not enough of something. You can check our registries out here and here.  I didn’t even register for a diaper bag because I have no idea what I’m looking for. I’m sure it will be less stressful after our baby shower next weekend just knowing what we have, what we need and adding small luxury items. Until that time I think I am just going to feel the pressure of caring for a tiny person in about 18 weeks and not having anything to take care of the baby with.

Another big worry right now is feeding this tiny person. I understand the basic principle of breast feeding, but some of the fine details need some attention. I only want the best for my little baby, but what am I going to do if I can’t breast feed or the tiny tot for some reason can’t have breast milk. What is the best way to build a stash of breast milk? Will I produce enough to satisfy my baby’s hunger? Do you really need those biscuits? Will that one goofy nipple cause issues? Where am I going to store all this breast milk that I’m saving up? It’s a lot of unknown and probably pretty normal concerns.

There are tohter concerns as well…..how am I supposed to make an appointment for tiny tots one week visit if I don’t know when the baby will be born? Is the hospital really prepared for my problems? How is my body going to react to labor? How can I get my husband to massage my fun parts to prevent tearing? Am I hurting tiny tot by sleeping on my back despite my best efforts to sleep on my sides? Is baby going to be too big? 

Gahhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!! It’ll all be ok

16 thoughts on “Panic Is Starting To Kick In

  1. Although I am only a little ahead of you in terms of weeks pregnant, I assure you that these are common worries. My counselor says that no one is ever really ready because we don’t know what to expect. All we can do is do the best we can and trust that we will handle new situations as they arise. Be kind to yourself and trust that you can and will do this well! Yes, we all will make mistakes, but everyone does. Hang in there. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  2. You had so many of the same questions I did!

    1 – Registry. I found I registered for so many things I didn’t need and ended up returning a bunch of stuff. I didn’t register for stuff I ended up using the most. There are so many convenience items that really aren’t needed in my opinion. If anyone asks what I need now my answer is always diapers, wipes and formula.

    2 – Breastfeeding. Take a class if you can. I didn’t and kick myself all the time as I was in over my head. I gave up too easily as I had supply issues but I think had I known more before birth I could have been more successful.

    3 – Every baby is different. There is only so much preparing you can do. I’m learning now that having less expectations is far less stessful!

    4 – This is my personal opinion, but birth plans are just something to stress a new momma out even more. Sure, there are certain things you might be able to control, but sometimes it’s out of your hands. My experience was just that – I definitely did not planned on being induced twice and still having a c-section at the end of it all.

    It’s easy to stress out over things but try not to let it get to you. It will work itself out. Sometimes it’s not easy but you’ll be just fine! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’ll post my birth plan on here so you guys can see it. It won’t really be a typical birth plan but more a written and signed doctors orders outlining meds and other procedures put in place for my bleeding disorder.

      Like

  3. You are going to do great Momma! And just remember there will always be a walmart available in the event you discover you need something, but didn’t think to get beforehand :). Send the hubby out and fetch it. Tehehe

    Liked by 1 person

  4. you don’t need to schedule baby’s first visit until after she’s born. generally this is done when your pediatrician checks the baby out in the hospital, they’ll have you call their office to schedule it. and i hear you on the freak-outs. i hate to say it, but they get a little more frequent as time goes by 😛

    Like

    • When we did our hospital tour they said that before you can check out you have to have the one week appointment scheduled. It sounds weird but considering a Lot of women that give birth there never go to prenatal appointments I think it’s to protect the babies

      Like

      • Yes it’s before you check out after baby is born, hospital is obligated to ensure appropriate follow up. Most parents call once baby is born, that’s how the pediatrician also knows which baby they need to see in the hospital.

        Like

  5. Deep breath!

    First of all, you don’t need nearly as much as you think you do. I am sure you have covered above and beyond what you actually need.

    Secondly, most woman can succeed at breastfeeding. I would recommend seeking out a lactation consultant whether you through your hospital if insurance covers it or through a community program such as WIC (you are in USA, yeah?)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Best thing to do is take a deep breath and take it one day at a time. You can always buy what’s missing later. Baby needs diapers, clothes, place to sleep. Oh and baby wipes 🙂
    Obviously stroller & car seat.
    As for feeding, don’t worry about a stash. At first this won’t be feasible because you will be building your supply on baby’s demand.
    If you have BF issues find help right away. Take it from me & my woes.
    A pump is a great thing to have just incase. I’ve used mine lots.
    Also make sure you know the baby’s latch is important. If it hurts a lot, your nipples aren’t far back enough in baby’s mouth. Please message me if you need advice. I’ve learned so much & continue to as I’m trying to get Owen back onto breast.

    Breathe….and don’t plan toooo far ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Try to not stress yourself out too much!! I like lists, so maybe that’s something you can try? Talk to moms, both new and old, and ask them what things they used the most or found the most helpful. That could help you narrow down your registry list a bit. I think once baby is born, your natural instincts will kick in and you’ll be fine. You’re awesome with your nephews, you’ll be awesome with your kids as well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

