NT Scan and Highs and Lows of the Day

Today has been quite a day…..full of ups and downs. The day has certainly had its really good times, exciting times, stressful times and times where I was ready to just cry (in fact I did cry for about an hour when I got off work).

2015/01/img_2319.jpg
Photo courtesy of Google images

The day started early, with our NT scan scheduled for 7am. We got a bit derailed because of the coolest thing ever to happen while I was at the hospital. A team of nurses came out of the Ob check in room pushing a wheel chair saying that they didn’t know exactly what they would need. Literally 30 seconds later they come running back in screaming that they needed some kit that the baby was crowing in the car. The nurses set to work gathering equipment and heading out to deliver the baby in the car. Unfortunately they didn’t make it back in time because you could hear from the hall “get the clamps the baby is here!” The lady actually fully delivered on her own on the way to the hospital and during the minute or two that the doctor took to get out to the car. It was freaking AWESOME!!!! I told Ronny I wanted to do that, but he said I would probably bleed to death on the way so no.

Back to the scan. I will post a YouTube video in a bit but the scan went pretty well. The baby is measuring exactly 12w3d which makes me one happy mommy. The heart rate was 152bpm and looked great. Unfortunately baby was less than cooperative when it came to taking the images and measurements needed. The baby was throwing a fit in there, pumping its fists, kicking and rolling all around. The technician would get the position she needed to measure the fold at the back of baby’s neck and s/he would roll over right before the tech was able to capture the image. She was able to get the measurement after a bit. The complete results are waiting for the blood test but the fold measured 1.47mm which is apparently really low. I was a bit upset that the technician didn’t try harder to get a nub shot after we had been talking about all the gender predictor tests that we’ve done so far. Oh, well…….we find out the gender on March 12th.

After the scan I went to work, where the day completely fell apart. I was asked for the second day in a row why I am getting so fat, was hit and had things thrown at me, and was treated very disrespectfully. I didn’t know what I was getting into when I accepted the position 2.5 years ago, but embraced it and have done the very best that I can do.

I emailed the doctors note from my doctor saying that I cannot be in an environment where I have to physically restrain children, separate fights, or be placed in a situation where I can receive trauma to my abdomen. I also send a second letter from the doctor saying that I have a high risk pregnancy with hyperemesis and require frequent monitoring. I originally spoke with the principal about doing other jobs around the school and having a less physically strenuous work load. He told me I had to go through human resources. Human resources said that they spoke with the principal and he said they don’t have anything I can do (so no accommodations) and that the only thing they can offer me is an unpaid leave of absence. Today I got an email from human resources saying that I do not qualify for a leave of absence using the FMLA criteria but do have an unpaid medical leave of absence available under the union bargaining agreement. That being said, they would have to contact the principal to see if he would be willing to hold my position for me. If he does, great….but if not I will not be able to get my position back when I have the baby (If I so choose).

So basically I feel like I am being given 2 options right now: a) continue to work at great risk to me and the baby or b) go on an unpaid leave of absence and not have a position to come back to in the fall. At this point I don’t know what to do and it’s really stressing me out.

Things will work themselves out for sure. I just hope it settles soon because I don’t know how much more of the stresses of daily life I can take.

Here is the pic that we got of our tiny being.

2015/01/img_2318.jpg

14 thoughts on “NT Scan and Highs and Lows of the Day

  1. I’m sorry you had such a stressful day. I’m glad baby is doing well and I love the picture! I hope you are able to make a decision that’s right for you about work. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi guys:
    Great to hear that things are well with the baby & the family. Wow the picture is amazing…it seems like it is a profile…Right?
    beautiful pic!
    I have worked as a TA in the past, also substituted no bebefits though…I went to school little by little complted my gradyation…and finally after applying every where I am currently teaching…but enogh about me…this is to tell you that there should one more option for you that the district could of have offer you. You can apply and transfer to another withing the same school district, I know the problem would be a new location, but you would still hold have your job with the benefits…keeping also your employment seniority.
    I know it seems that office people un the school districts do not put themselves in someone else shows…
    Try to inquire about this other option, best wishes for you guys…

    Like

    • …Sorry, I typed what I posted really fast and did not go over it…oh boy…couldn’t read… ok…123…I fixed…I think is better now and thathen is readable…

      Hi guys:
      Great to hear that things are well with the baby & the family. Wow the picture is amazing…it seems like it is a profile…Right?
      beautiful pic!
      I have worked as a TA in the past, also substituted no bebefits though…I went to school little by little complted my gradyation…and finally after applying every where I am currently teaching…but enough about me…this is to tell you that there should be one more option for you that the district could of have offer you. You can apply aa a transfer, and transfer to another school withing the same school district, I know the problem now would be a new location, but you would still hold your position and continue having your job with the benefits…also keeping your employment seniority and pension.

      I know it seems that office people don’t put themselves in someone else’s shoes.
      Try to inquire about this other option, best wishes for you guys…

      Like

      • Thank you for responding. I do have my teaching lisence but the teaching pool is so full right now due to numerous school closures. The problem with transferring locations is two-fold. First, I do not have a vehicle so I would not have transportation, as I currently live 6 blocks away and can walk to work. Second, the position that I hold is very exclusive as I am a para in a classroom for students with affective needs (emotional disorders). There are only a handful of centers within the district and they would have to transfer me to the same program at a different school in order for me to keep the pay and benefits.

        Like

  3. I am a school administrator and I must say that the information your district gave you sounds VERY suspect. I don’t know where you live, but here, that would not be acceptable at all. You would be guaranteed your job and you would have to be moved to a safer situation. The teacher’s union should be supporting you in this. I am sorry to hear about that. I have been following your blog, though, and I was delighted to read that everything went well at your doctor’s visit. That is wonderful news. If you have legal questions about FMLA/pregnancy leave and/or accommodations, please contact me. Here’s my blog: http://lesbianbabyblog.blogspot.com/.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi and thank you for reading. I also have been following along your blog. I work for the public school system here in Denver,Co. I agree that it sounds really fishy and on the agenda today is calling an attourney to discuss the matter with them.

      Like

    • Sorry (hit send before i was done). I originally asked the principal for accomodations including a flexible start time as the hyperemesis makes it difficult to get to work at 8:30, and lighter duty around the school such as helping with photocopying/filing and helping teachers get other projects completed. Basically anything else I could do away from the current classroom I work in. He responded that I had to go through human resources, who spoke to him and asked him the same thing……to which his reply was no. They then contacted me and said that they could offer me unpaid leave but would havd to contact the principal to see if he would be willing to hold my position. If he doesnt, I woukd be forced into a leave when I am willing to work in another way at the school and would not have a position to return to if I chose to do so in the fall. There exact responce was I could apply for other positions in the district but would not be guranteed a job.

      Like

Leave a Reply

